New Jersey Motor Vehicle Violations
Each time you get a ticket, the Motor Vehicle Commission will add points to your driving record. Different New Jersey motor vehicle violations have different point values, with more points reserved for more serious violations. The more points you accrue on your driving record, the more severe the consequences will be.
If you have received a ticket, it is in your best interest to hire an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney to help you fight your ticket and have it dismissed or at least have the resulting consequences reduced.
Traffic Violations Surcharges or Suspended License
If you accumulate six or more points on your driving record within three years, you will be subject to a surcharge of $150, plus $25 for each point beyond six. This is in addition to any fines for the underlying violations that gave you the points.
Having 12 or more points on your driving record at any time will result in the suspension of your driver’s license. A judge may also suspend your license for any willful violation of NJSA 39:1-1 to NJSA 39:5G-2.
While you may accrue points for getting tickets, there are also various ways that you can reduce these negative points on your driving record. However, it should be noted that point violations stay on your driving record.
Up to three points may be subtracted from the total points on your driving record for each year you go without a violation or suspension. You may also earn a two-point deduction by taking an MVC-approved defensive driving course, but such a course may be used to subtract points only once every five years. A driver improvement program may be used to subtract three points once every two years, and a probationary driver program will also earn a three-point deduction.
Higher Insurance Rates
Getting traffic tickets may also adversely affect your insurance premium. New Jersey-licensed automobile insurance providers have a similar but separate system of “insurance eligibility points.” The insurance points for most moving violations are the same as the MVC Points, but for some more serious violations, the insurance points are higher.
Insurance points received within the last three years are used to determine the premium that you must pay for liability coverage. If you accumulate too many points, you may not be able to purchase insurance on the voluntary market, in which case you will need to obtain coverage through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan (NJAIP) at greater expense.
Contact Dan T. Matrafajlo for Motor Vehicle violation case in New Jersey
The simplest and most effective way to avoid negative consequences on your driving record and a hike on your insurance premium is to avoid getting a ticket. But that is not always possible, as you are human and are entitled to make a mistake. So, if you have been involved in any traffic violation, you should contact an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney Dan T. Matrafajlo to help you fight the ticket or at least reduce the consequences associated with the ticket.
Leaving the Scene of an Injury Accident (NJSA 39:4-129) Leavin
Leaving the Scene of a Non-Injury Accident (NJSA 39:4-129(b)) Leaving the scene of an accident (commonly referred to as
Improper Turn From Approved Turning Course (NJSA 39:4-124) New Jersey Annotated Statute 39:4-124 gives the State Highway
Improper passing on right or off roadway (NJSA 39:4-85) If you’re going to pass a car that’s driving in the same dir
Improper Passing of a Frozen Dessert Truck (NJSA 39:4-128.4) Section 39:4-128.4 of the New Jersey Annotated Statutes dea
Improper passing in no passing zone (NJSA 39:4-86) When you’re driving your car along a New Jersey roadway, you must o
Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider (N.J.S.A. 39:4-82.1)
Improper Crossing of Railroad Grade Crossing by Certain Vehicles (NJSA 39:4-128) NJSA 39:4-128 applies only to drivers o
Improper Backing or Turning in Street (NJSA 39:4-127) In this article, New Jersey
Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle (NJSA 39:4-87)
Failure to yield to emergency vehicles (N.J.S.A. 39:4-91 and 39:4-92) When you’re driving along a New Jersey roadway a
Failure to use proper entrances to limited-access highways (NJSA 39:4-90.1) Improperly entering or leaving limited-acces
Failure to Stop for Police Whistle (NJSA 39:4-122) Section 39:4-122 of the New Jersey Annotated Statutes mandates that a
Failure to Stop for a Traffic Light (NJSA 39:4-105) In this ar
Failure to Stop at a Flashing Red Signal (NJSA 39:4-119) When a New Jersey driver approaches a traffic control signal th
Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction (N.J.S.A. 39:4-84)
Failure to obey direction of officer (N.J.S.A. 39:4-80) If you see an officer on the road that is directing traffic, you
Failure to keep right at intersection (N.J.S.A. 39:4-83)
Failing to Observe a Police Officer's Directions (NJSA 39:4-57) Although you might think that traffic tickets are mainly
Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal (NJSA 39:4-66.2) If you’re driving along a roa