Improper Turn From Approved Turning Course (NJSA 39:4-124)

New Jersey Annotated Statute 39:4-124 gives the State Highway Commissioner and local authorities the right to modify the method of turning at intersections in their respective jurisdictions. If the prescribed turning method at an intersection varies from that outlined in NJSA 39:4-123, this should be clearly indicated with buttons, markers, or direction signs. When such signs are present, drivers must turn in the manner directed.

Fines and Other Penalties

Turning in a manner other than that required by the State Highway Commissioner or local authorities is punishable by an $85 fine ($140 in a construction zone). If you plead guilty to or are convicted of violating NJSA 39:4-124, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will add two points to your driving record.

Points for traffic violations do not expire, but up to three points will be removed from your record for each year in which you do not commit another violation or get a license suspension. You can also earn deductions by taking a defensive driving course (two points deducted once every five years), a driver improvement program (three points deducted every two years), or a probationary driver program (three points deducted).

Getting six or more points on your New Jersey driving record within three years will result in a surcharge of $150, plus $25 for each point beyond six. Having 12 or more points on your driving record at any time will result in your license being suspended.

Effect on Insurance Premiums

New Jersey-licensed automobile insurance providers have a similar point system called “insurance eligibility points.” Points received within the last three years are used to assess your risk as a driver, and the more points you have, the higher premium you will need to pay to obtain liability coverage. If you get too many insurance points on your record, you may not be able to purchase insurance through a private company, in which case you will need to obtain coverage through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan (NJPAIP) at greater expense. If you are convicted of or plead guilty to violating NJSA 39:4-124, you will receive three “insurance eligibility points.”

How a Central New Jersey Traffic Attorney Can Help

I have years of experience defending central New Jersey drivers like you and may be able to negotiate for lower penalties, or even get the charges against you dismissed outright. For a free, no-obligation consultation, please call central New Jersey Traffic Attorney Dan Matrafajlo at (908) 248-4404.



  • Please fill out the following form and we will contact you as soon as possible.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



  • america top 100
  • Cambridge
  • Superlawyers
  • New jercy association for justice
  • AVVO
  • AVVO


Free Case Evaluation

Please fill out the following form and we will contact you as soon as possible.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.