A driver’s license is a privilege, not a right in the State of New Jersey. This means that if you do not abide by the law, the Department of Motor Vehicles can take your driving privileges away from you. Most of us seriously depend on our driving privileges to go about our daily lives. We drive to work; we drive to the grocer store; we drive our kids to school; and we drive to social events. Not having a driver’s license can significantly impact our daily lives.
Two Ways Your Driving Privileges Can Be Suspended
There are two major ways you can lose your New Jersey driving privileges. One way is for a judge to order that your driver’s license be suspended. The other way is for the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) to order the suspension of your driving privileges. Either way, the result is the same.
Some of the reasons for a suspension include:
- A conviction for drunk driving
- Getting into a fatal motor vehicle collision
- Receiving 12 or more points on your driving record
- A conviction for reckless driving
- Failure to provide proof of auto insurance
- Abandoning your car on a public highway
- Failing to appear in court to pay fines
Reinstating Your Suspended New Jersey Driver’s License
Thankfully, not all suspensions are permanent. In certain cases, you may be able to restore or reinstate your driving privileges in New Jersey with the help of an experienced attorney. The first step you need to take in restoring your driver’s license is to complete the suspension period. Below is a summary of the New Jersey Mandatory Probation Period for driver’s license suspensions:
For the first violation within a year
Within 6 months of restoration 90 days
Within 7–9 months 60 days
Within 10–12 months 45 days
For second or subsequent violations*
Within 6 months of restoration 180 days
Within 7–9 months 120 days
Within 10–12 months 90 days
* If your driver’s license is suspended three times within a three-year period, you may lose your license for up to three years.
After you have completed your suspension period, the MVC will send you a Notice of Restoration in the mail. The next step is to submit a payment of $100 restoration fee to the MVC. You can either pay the fee online or mail a check or money order payable to:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 140
Trenton, NJ 08650-0140
You may also need to pay additional suspension, restoration fees, court fines and annual surcharges. The MVC will notify you the exact amount that you need to pay when you go in person to restore your driver’s license.
Call a Traffic Ticket Attorney in New Jersey
If you or someone you know has had their New Jersey driver’s license suspended, an experienced attorney can help with the restoration process. For more information or to schedule a free consultation with New Jersey traffic ticket attorney Dan T. Matrafajlo, please call the Beninato & Matrafajlo Law at (908) 248-4404.