When You Get Ticketed Out of State: What You Need to Know
What happens in New York stays in New York, right? Unfortunately, motor vehicle violations don’t exactly follow that mantra. Instead, you should know what happens when you get ticketed out of state.
It seems enough that you’ll face fines and penalties in the state where you receive the violation. In fact, some state laws contain even harsher consequences for traffic offenses. For example, using a radar detector in Florida means you could face criminal charges.
Not all states are created equal when it comes to getting a ticket when you’re behind the wheel of any type of motor vehicle. The most serious impact falls on CDL license holders. A minor motor vehicle infraction often means big trouble. In fact, you could be in danger of losing your CDL.
Meanwhile, technology acts as an asset when it comes to sharing information. If you think you’ll get away with your home state learning of your license suspension or traffic violation, you’re mistaken.
According to the National Center for Interstate Compacts (NCIC), every state throughout the country participates in the Driver License Compact. The exchange of information focuses on a particular goal. Simply put, it’s about One Driver, One License.
Consequences of Out of State Tickets
A number of states participate in yet another agreement, known as the Nonresident Violator Compact (NRVC). The only exceptions to this program are Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon, and Wisconsin.
The NRVC works to ensure consistency in the treatment of nonresident motor vehicle offenders. You should understand the critical nature of this compact. Essentially, you won’t be required to stay in the state if you’re facing motor vehicle charges. However, your failure to ignore them could cost you your license.
Return to the traffic citation you received in New York, Connecticut, or Pennsylvania. Was it a speeding ticket? Expect to receive the same consequences as though the police pulled you over for moving violation in New Jersey.
One of your chief concerns involves the assessment of motor vehicle points. After all, too many could potentially result in losing your license. According to the New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicles, exceeding the speed limit by 14 mph calls for 14 points. If you’re convicted of exacerbating 30 mph or more over the legal limit, you’re facing 5 points.
As you can see, the points add up quickly. Receive 12 or more with any period of time, and you won’t like what you’re in for going forward. A license suspension puts your wheels at a quick standstill. And again, it won’t matter where you received the ticket.
At Law Offices of Beninato & Matrafajlo, you may need to coordinate our legal representation with an out of state attorney. We can discuss your options with you and ensure your rights are protected. Contact our office to determine if we can assist you.