Violent crimes like assault are very serious matters. If you are facing a simple assault charge in New Jersey, you have a right to be nervous for the potential punishment you may be facing. You need to hire a New Jersey simple assault lawyer to protect your legal rights and make sure you get the lightest sentence possible.
Under New Jersey law, you can be charged with two types of basic assault: simple assault and aggravated assault. Simple assault is the less serious of the two crimes.
What the Prosecution Needs to Prove
In order for the prosecution to successfully charge you with a crime of simple assault, there needs to be probable cause that you committed one of the following:
- Purposely, knowingly or recklessly caused or attempted to cause bodily harm to another individual;
- Negligently or unintentionally caused injury to another individual with a deadly weapon; or
- Attempted to put someone in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
In other words, you can be charged with simple assault without even touching another person. Your New Jersey simple assault lawyer will take every step necessary to dispute these charges and prove there was no probable cause as to any of three scenarios.
Punishment & Penalties For Simple Assault
If you are convicted of simple assault, you may face the following punishments and penalties under New Jersey law:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Community service hours
- Pay a fine of up to $1,000
- Pay restitution and serve probation time
- Have a criminal record
Your New Jersey simple assault lawyer will protect your legal rights and attempt to get you the lightest sentence possible, including avoiding jail time.
Call Us If You Have Been Charged With Simple Assault
If you have been charged with simple assault or any other criminal offense, contact Law Office Of Dan T. Matrafajlo at (908) 248-4404.