Traffic Ticket Help for Repeat Offenders
When you get a traffic ticket in New Jersey, you should be concerned about three key issues: 1) your driving record, 2) your auto insurance rates, and 3) any potential exposure to fines, court costs and even jail time. These issues can be even more enhanced if you are a repeat offender – meaning you have been issued prior traffic tickets.
To avoid these hefty punishments, you should hire an experienced New Jersey traffic ticket attorney to fight for you and have the ticket dismissed.
Points on Your Driving Record
If you are convicted of a moving violation, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will assess points to your driving record. Below is a chart summary of the common moving violations and the corresponding points it can leave on your driving record:
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-129||Leaving scene of an accident (injury)||8|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-96||Reckless driving||5|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-98||Speeding in excess of 30 mph over limit||5|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-128.1||Improper passing of school bus||5|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-85||Improper passing||4|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-98||Speeding (15-29 mph over limit)||4|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-123||Improper turn||3|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-88||Unsafe lane change||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-98||Speeding (1-14 mph over limit)||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-97||Careless driving||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-129||Leaving scene of an accident (no injury)||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-105||Failure to stop for traffic light||2|
Consequences for Repeat Offenders
In some cases, the New Jersey MVC may assess points for repeat violations. For example, you would get 3 points on your driving record if you are convicted of using a hand-held cell phone while driving (N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.3) for a third time and it has been less than 10 years since your last prior conviction for the offense.
If you accrue 12 points or more on your driving record within a two-year time frame, your license can be suspended. However, you may be able to get the points reduced from your MVC driving record in three different ways:
- Complete the state’s Driver Improvement Program (3 point reduction)
- Voluntarily take an MVC-approved defensive driving course (2 point reduction, but available only once every five years)
- Get three points removed for every year you go without getting a new moving violation (record can never go below 0 points)
These options prove that you should never simply admit guilt. Even if none of these three are an option for you, there may be other avenue in avoiding consequences of a traffic ticket if you hire an experienced New Jersey traffic ticket attorney.
Call a New Jersey Traffic Ticket Attorney Today
If you or someone you know was cited with a traffic violation, an experienced attorney can help fight the ticket and avoid the negative consequences. Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today.