Punishment for Reckless Driving in New Jersey
Reckless driving is a major offense under New Jersey law, with serious consequences. Even though this violation is considered a motor vehicle offense, the punishment is similar to those of a criminal offense. It is important to take all steps possible to fight a reckless driving ticket. The best way to do this is to immediately hire an experienced and aggressive New Jersey reckless driving attorney.
Although it is best to ask an attorney any questions you may have about your reckless driving ticket, below is some general information to generally asked questions.
What is NJ Title 39 reckless driving?
In New Jersey, as set forth by N.J.S.A. 39:4-96, driving heedlessly, in wanton or willful disregard of the safety and rights of others, and in a manner that endangers or is likely to endanger a person or property constitutes reckless driving.
Can reckless driving be reduced in NJ?
A reckless driving charge can be reduced or dismissed altogether. Your attorney must prevent the prosecution from proving that 1) your actions were detrimental to the rights and safety of others, and 2) you were acting in willful disregard for the safety of others.
What is the charge for reckless driving in NJ?
If you are found guilty of reckless driving, you can face the following consequences:
- 5 points on your driving record
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Fines between $50 and $200 for a first conviction
- Suspension of your driving privileges from 1 to 90 days, if the judge deems you a road hazard
What is the difference between careless and reckless driving in NJ?
Reckless and careless driving laws sound very similar, and the decision of which offense to charge is made at the law enforcement agent’s discretion. The primary distinction between the two charges is that a reckless driver is well aware they are driving dangerously, while a careless driver has no ill intent.
How do I remove a reckless driving violation from my driving record in NJ?
Depending on your specific situation, below are some different ways to remove points from your driving record:
- Attend a defense driving program offered by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission – can remove two (2) points
- Take a Driver Improvement or Probationary Driver Program – can remove up to three (3) points.
- Go one year with getting no violations or suspensions – will remove three (3) points.
Call a New Jersey Ticket Attorney
If you or someone you know has been issued any type of traffic violation in New Jersey, including careless and reckless driving, an experienced attorney can help. Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today.