New Jersey is the only state that allows parents to provide their sick or disable children with medical marijuana at school. The law was inspired by 16-year-old Genny Barbour, who was diagnosed with epilepsy and severe autism. Genny’s physician recommended that she take 4 doses of medical marijuana on a daily basis. However, her school did not allow Genny’s grandparents to give her a lunchtime dose because it would be against the law.
Genny’s story made news headlines and even a spot on ABC’s The View. In response to the story and similar scenarios statewide, New Jersey governor Chris Christie signed into law Assembly Bill 4587.
The Details of Assembly Bill 4587
Assembly Bill 4587 requires schools to allow parents, guardians, and caregivers to provide their children with edible medical marijuana on school property and school buses. In order to qualify for such an administration of marijuana, the child must satisfy BOTH of the following:
- Be diagnosed with a developmental disability; AND
- Be registered with the state medical marijuana program.
The New Jersey legislature passed the Bill by an overwhelming majority in both houses in June 2015. Governor Chris Christie signed the Bill into law in early November 2015.
Marijuana Is Still a Federal Crime
New Jersey has become more tolerant of medical marijuana. However, it is important to remember that possession of marijuana is still illegal under federal law, resulting in serious consequences even for a first time offense. If convicted under federal law for possession of marijuana, you could face up to 18 months in prison, a monetary fine of no less than $500 but not more than $15,000, and the loss of your driving privileges.
As such, if you are facing charges for possession of marijuana, it is imperative that you immediately consult with a New Jersey marijuana defense attorney to help you fight the charges. With an experienced and aggressive attorney on your side, you can feel confident that you will have a good chance in successfully fighting the charges and avoiding the harsh consequences of a conviction.
Call a Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney in New Jersey
If you or someone you know has been unfairly and falsely charged with the possession of marijuana in New Jersey, an experienced attorney can help you fight the charges and avoid a conviction. For more information or to schedule a free consultation with New Jersey marijuana possession defense attorney Dan T. Matrafajlo, please call the Beninato & Matrafajlo law firm at (908) 248-4404.