New Jersey law requires all motorists and registered owners to maintain liability insurance coverage. Driving without insurance, also known as driving an uninsured vehicle, is a serious motor vehicle offense. New Jersey law is unforgiving when it comes to this, even if you did not know that the vehicle you were driving was uninsured. Moreover, the liability coverage must meet the minimum state requirement.
If you were caught driving a vehicle without insurance coverage, you should immediately contact a qualified New Jersey traffic offense attorney to help you. An experienced attorney can help you avoid the serious consequences associated with traffic tickets and offenses, such as driving an uninsured vehicle.
New Jersey Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Below are the penalties for a driving without insurance conviction in New Jersey:
– 1st offense:
- Fine between $300-$1,000
- Community service
- 1 year mandatory license suspension
– 2nd (or any subsequent) offense:
- A fine up to $5,000
- Required 30 days of community service
- 2 year mandatory license suspension
- 14 days in the county jail
It is important to note that this law applies to both the vehicle owner as well as the operator of the motor vehicle at the time of the offense. In addition to the court imposed penalties, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will require you to pay mandatory surcharges before reinstating your driver’s license. This charge is typically $250 for a period of 3 years. Some insurance companies also impose their own monetary penalties, such as charging a higher insurance premium to insure your vehicle in the future.
Simply Having Insurance is Not Enough
It is important to realize that you are breaking the law if you drive uninsured – but simply having insurance is not enough. The minimum amount of New Jersey auto insurance coverage is $15,000/$30,000/$5,000. In the event of a covered accident, your limits for bodily injury are $15,000 per person, with a total maximum of $30,000 per incident. It also covers up to $5,000 for damage to another person’s property.
As a New Jersey resident, your insurance policy must cover two types of liability:
- Property damage – which safeguards your assets if you are found to have caused an accident. It covers certain damages you may cause to the property or vehicle of another party.
- Bodily injury – which protects your assets if you are found to have caused an accident, including certain expenses associated with bodily harm sustained by the other parties involved in the accident.
Call a New Jersey Traffic Attorney Today
If you or someone you know was cited with a traffic violation, an experienced attorney can help fight the ticket and avoid the negative consequences. Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today.