Is Reckless Driving Considered a Crime in New Jersey?
Reckless driving remains one of the leading causes of collisions in New Jersey. To combat this unfortunate statistic, the state takes unsafe driving practices very seriously. But if you have been caught practicing dangerous driving habits, you may be wondering if reckless driving is considered a crime in New Jersey.
This article will provide useful information about reckless driving and most of the answers you will need. However, if you are facing reckless driving charges, it is best to immediately consult with an experienced New Jersey reckless driving defense lawyer.
Reckless Driving is Not a Crime in New Jersey
The State of New Jersey does not technically consider reckless driving a crime. It is only considered a traffic offense. However, this is a major traffic offense that entails consequences and punishment like a crime.
Common Examples of Reckless Driving
Some common examples of types of driving that amount to reckless driving include:
- Excessive speeding
- Driving on the wrong side of the road
- Driving under the influence of legal and illegal drugs, and alcohol
- Driving too fast based on the current road conditions
- Excessive lane changing
- Failure to use signals
- Texting and driving
- Failure to fully stop at a stop sign
- Running a red light
- Improperly passing other vehicles, such as wearing in and out of traffic
- Negligent use of a shoulder
Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey
The penalties associated with reckless driving in the state of New Jersey depend on various factors, including the circumstances of your arrest and your driving/criminal history.
Penalties for a first-time reckless driving offense include:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Between $50 and $200 in fines
- $33 court fee
- Five motor vehicle points on your driver’s license
- Driver’s license suspension
Penalties for a second-time reckless driving offense include:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Fines ranging from $100 to $500
- $33 court fee
- Five motor vehicle points on your driving record
- Suspension of your driver’s license
You may face other penalties and consequences, including a major hike in your insurance rates (as much as a 50% annual increase) and a state surcharge if you have six or more points on your record.
To avoid these costly consequences of a reckless driving offense, it is imperative that you immediately consult with an experienced New Jersey reckless driving defense attorney who has your best interests in mind.
Call a New Jersey Ticket Attorney
If you or someone you know has been issued any type of traffic violation in New Jersey, including careless and reckless driving, an experienced attorney can help. Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today.