Not having a driver’s license can significantly impact all aspects of your life and make it nearly impossible to take care of your daily basic needs, such as going to work, buying groceries, or taking your kids to school. Some states allow their residents to continue driving with a suspended license for certain important activities, such as for or medical purposes. However, New Jersey law forbids driving of any kind if your license has been suspended.
If your license has been suspended, you may be able to get it restored. Below are three steps you must take to restore your driving privileges.
Step One: Get More Information
The first step to getting your license restored is to understand why it was suspended in the first place. The easiest way to get information is to call the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at (609) 292-6500. The MVC keeps a history abstract record that lists all information related to your driver’s license, including the reasons why your driver’s license was suspended.
In addition to finding out the reasons for the suspension, you should also find out the following information:
- How long you have to wait to restore your driver’s license
- Whether you have to pay surcharges and if so, how much
- Whether you need to complete a required MVC program, such as a Defense Driving Course or an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center
- Which court you need to appear at
Step Two: Understand How to Lift the Suspension
New Jersey driver’s license suspensions can be ordered either by the MVC or the court. You can find out who ordered the suspension of your license by looking at your driver history abstract or directly calling the MVC.
Courts generally order a suspension for various reasons, including:
- Motor vehicle, criminal or juvenile justice code violations
- Failure to pay a parking ticket
- Failure to pay a court-ordered fine
- Failure to pay child support
- Failure to appear in court
Once you have resolved your outstanding court matters, either you or the court needs to notify the MVC to lift the suspension and restore your license. In some cases, you may need to bring the documentation to the MVC.
Reasons for MVC-imposed suspensions include:
- Failure to pay MVC fines (called surcharges)
- Failure to complete a required program
- Too many points on your record
- Driving without car insurance
- Being a “habitual offender” (i.e. having had your license suspended three times in a three-year time frame)
Step Three: When You Can Actually Get Behind the Wheel
Your driving privileges don’t automatically get restored even after resolving all MVC and court issues. You need to take the following steps before you can actually get behind the wheel:
- Call the MVC to find out if all your suspensions have been removed
- Pay the license restoration fee of $100 (plus another $100 if you also need to restore your registration)
- Retake the written or road test if your license has been suspended for more than 3 years
- Pay $24 and show six points worth identification with proof of address
Call a New Jersey Driver’s License Restoration Attorney Today
If you or someone you know has host their driver’s license and want to restore it, an experienced attorney can help. Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today.