You might already know the problem with accumulating traffic points. Get enough of them, and you can count on relinquishing your license – even it’s “only” a suspension. However, what might not realize what else those points me and how they are recorded. Or, that’s even possible for you to lower the points on your driver’s license.
A New Jersey driver history abstract is a three-year record of all moving violation convictions, accidents, and actions that resulted in any points and license suspensions or revocations. Meanwhile, the past never really goes away on an abstract. (It’s the reason you can’t seek an expungement for a DWI – a motor vehicle offense in New Jersey.
Accumulating points on your driver’s license is never positive. The good news is you may be able to remove some violations and points from your driving record. It can take time, but it is possible.
What are Points?
In New Jersey, every traffic conviction is assigned a point value that is added to your record. For example, points may be added to your driver’s license for violations such as speeding, failing to stop at a red light, reckless driving, or tailgating. Truth be told, there are circumstances where you can accumulate enough points at one traffic stop to lose your license.
If you collect 12 points in 18 months, you will have your license revoked. To see how quickly these can add up, consider the following scenario. You zoom past a school bus that has its red lights flashing. That, in itself, accounts for five points. Meanwhile, you were clocked at 42MPH in a 25MPH zone – add another four points. The police officer throws the whole book at you with a reckless driving ticket. With that violation amounting to five points, you could easily lose your license.
If you accumulate six points within three years, you will have to pay the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission a $150 surcharge, plus $25 for each additional point over six. You must pay surcharges annually for three years. You can have your license suspended if you do not pay.
Car insurance companies can access your driver history record abstract to determine your car insurance premiums, which will rise accordingly. Also, employers might request access to your driving abstract if you are applying for a position as a professional driver.
New Jersey Point Reduction
If you obey all New Jersey traffic laws and keep your driving record free of any violations for one year, three points will be reduced from your license. Also, for every 12-month period you maintain a clean driving record, another three points will be removed.
Enrolling in an approved online defensive driving course can deduct two points from your license if you complete it. You can attend a course online. However, you may only receive point deductions every five years for each course you take. A driving course will also help you reduce insurance costs.
It is a good idea to review your driving record. You may have infractions you forgot about, and you will want to avoid surcharges. You can order a copy of your New Jersey driving record online or by mail from the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for a $15 fee.
Contact a New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyer
If you are facing a driver’s license suspension or need to fight to prevent points from being accumulated to your driving record, contact New Jersey traffic attorneys Beninato & Matrafajlo. You need lawyers who can help protect you and your driving record. Call today to schedule a free consultation.