Getting a traffic violation can have a much bigger impact than many New Jersey motorists realize. In addition to a hike in insurance rates and expensive court fines, you may also find yourself with a suspended driver’s license. These serious issues make it imperative to fight your traffic ticket, even if the ticket seems minor.
To increase the likelihood of a successful fight, you should immediately consult with an experienced New Jersey ticket attorney. Whether your citation was for a simple speeding or a more serious offense, an aggressive ticket attorney can help fight the charges and avoid the many other consequences and impact traffic violation can have your life.
The Impact of Driving Tickets on Your Driving Record
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will add points to your driving record for every traffic violation you are convicted of – both major and minor. More major the traffic violation will generally result in greater points on your record.
Below is a list of common New Jersey point violations. The New Jersey MVC website will provide a more complete list.
– 2-Point Violations. New Jersey’s least-serious points violations include:
- Failure to yield right of way to a pedestrian
- Disregarding traffic signals
- Driving the wrong way down a one-way street
- Blocking traffic by driving at low speeds
- Driving at a speed 1 to 14 MPH over the designated speed limit
- Not stopping for a traffic light
- Proceeding through stop or yield signs
- Any moving violation committed in a state other than New Jersey
– 3-Point Violations & Above. New Jersey punishes drivers who commit more serious traffic violations with 3 or more points on their driving record:
- Disobeying right or left turn laws: 3 points.
- U-turn violation: 3 points.
- Passing in a no passing zone: 4 points.
- Speeding over the designated limit:
- 15 to 29 MPH over: 4 points.
- 30 MPH or more over: 5 points.
- Illegal racing: 5 points.
- Reckless driving: 5 points.
- Passing or attempting to pass a stopped school bus: 5 points.
- An accident resulting in personal injury: 8 points.
Reducing Points on Your Driving Record
In some cases, New Jersey MVC will allow you to request the points removed. You can request for up to 3 points to be removed from your record 1 year after any of the following happens:
– Your last moving violation
– You have not had any violations in the at least 1 year prior
– You complete an approved driver improvement program
Call a New Jersey Traffic Ticket Attorney Today
If you or someone you know was cited with a traffic violation, an experienced attorney can help fight the ticket and avoid the negative consequences. Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today.