Most people depend on their driver’s licenses to get around. However, people who operate commercial vehicles – tractor trailers, construction vehicles, big rigs, etc. – depend on their commercial driver’s license (commonly referred to as CDLs) to earn a living. One traffic violation can put your financial livelihood in jeapardy.
Traffic tickets, especially if you have a CDL, can have serious penalties that require experienced legal help. A good New Jersey CDL ticket lawyer will understand how important your CDL is to you and your family and will take all steps necessary to aggressively fight your ticket.
Impact of Out of State Traffic Tickets on your NJ CDL
You should also know that as a CDL holder, even a ticket outside of New Jersey, can adversely impact your NJ CDL. Unlike most states, New Jersey accepts information about traffic violations out of state, especially when it comes to commercial driver’s licenses.
Once the New Jersey department of motor vehicles is notified of your out-of-state ticket, they will add the points to your NJ CDL record. This is makes it imperative to fight any traffic ticket you get, regardless of what state it was in.
Penalties for CDL Traffic Tickets
Commercial drivers may hold a different type of driver’s license, but they must still obey the same rules of the road as any other motorist. Failure to do so can result in more serious consequences.
Below are some common penalties for a CDL traffic violation:
- Drunk driving violation: A firs-time DWI conviction will result in a one-year suspension of your CDL. If the commercial vehicle contained a hazardous material at the time of the DWI stop, the suspension will be extended to three years. A second violation will result in the permanent loss of your CDL.
- Speeding: Speeding may result in the suspension of your CDL for two months for a first or second offense. The judge has the discretion to issue a suspension of up to 120 days for a third or subsequent conviction.
- Failure to stop at stop: A conviction for a failure to stop at a stop sign or traffic light can result in a $200 fine. Additionally, the judge has the discretion to suspend your CDL for 60 days for a first or second offense and up to 120 for a third or subsequent conviction.
These are not the only CDL violations and resulting penalties. It is best to avoid a conviction altogether. But if you do get a traffic ticket, it is best to immediately hire an experienced New Jersey CDL traffic ticket attorney to fight the ticket.
Call a New Jersey Driver’s Traffic Ticket Attorney Today
If you or someone you know has gotten a ticket and wants to avoid a conviction, an experienced attorney can help. Fighting traffic violation tickets are especially important if you are a CDL license holder.
Call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-355-7100 to schedule a free, complimentary consultation with our legal team today to see how we can help you fight your ticket.