Possessing False Documents and Fake I.D. in New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-2.1(d))
Under New Jersey law, knowingly possessing a document or other writing which falsely purports to be a driver’s license, birth certificate, or other document issued by a governmental agency and which could be used as a means of verifying a person’s identity or age or any other personal identifying information is a crime of the fourth degree.
It is not unusual for teenagers in New Jersey to carry a “fake I.D.” Police who come into contact with individuals carrying fake I.D.’s frequently charge those individuals with a crime. Just having the fake I.D. in your possession is a crime. Possession of false identification can lead to a serious criminal charge. If you have been criminally charged because you possessed false identification, you need the help of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer with particular experience defending clients against the charge of possessing false documents.
Punishment for Having a Fake I.D and Violating N.J.S.A. 2C:21-2.1(d)
Due in part to heightened fears of the use of false identification in an age of terrorism and homeland security, law enforcement personnel take possession of false identification very seriously. Courts consider a criminal charge in connection with possession of false identification very severe. While each case has its own distinctive issues, a conviction for possessing false identification could result in the loss of your driver’s license, up to 18 months in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.
If a juvenile is convicted of either possessing or displaying a fake ID, his or her driver’s license will be suspended for no less than 6 months but no more than 2 years. If the juvenile is not yet old enough to drive, the suspension will begin on the day he or she is eligible to start driving. The loss of driving privileges and a criminal record are very serious matters and require the help of a New Jersey criminal defense attorney.